Venice: Darkness to Light

Wednesday 14 October (2015)

PRICE: £25, 15, £5

Book Now

Stephen Layton conductor
Stephen Farr harpsichord
Elin Manahan Thomas soprano
Alex Potter countertenor
City of London Sinfonia

Pergolesi arr. JS Bach Stabat Mater
Vivaldi arr. JS Bach Keyboard Concerto in F major BWV978
Busoni arr. John Adams Berceuse Elegiaque
Liszt arr. John Adams The Black Gondola
Bach arr. Ugis Praulins New commission
Stravinsky Pulcinella

Join us in the historic surroundings of Southwark Cathedral as we bring to life the sounds of one of the most romantic cities in the world. The performance begins with Bach’s take on two of Venice’s finest 18th century composers: Pergolesi’s dark and mournful Stabat Mater sung by City of London Sinfonia favourite Elin Manahan Thomas and Vivaldi’s energetic Keyboard Concerto. John Adams’ reflections on Liszt’s tribute to Venice’s waterways and Stravinsky’s light-hearted re-imagining of Pergolesi’s comedy, Pulcinella complete this atmospheric programme.


Adult: £25, £15, £5
Concessions: £12.50, £7.50, £5 **
CLS FIVER (16-25 year olds): £5 – pre-register at *
Early Bird tickets: £1 * – quote EARLYBIRD when booking

*Early Bird and FIVER tickets are subject to availability. Tickets can be accessed using the promotional code.
**Concessions available for children (under 16), senior citizens and jobseekers.

Please note Spitalfields Music is only providing box office services for this event. For other enquiries regarding this event, please contact City of London Sinfonia directly.

Book tickets

This event has passed.