Summer Festival 2016

Schubert Ensemble

Monday 13 June, 7.00pm (2016)

The Octagon, Queen Mary University of London

PRICE: Tickets: £15 unreserved

Book Now

Simon Blendis violin
Douglas Paterson viola
Jane Salmon cello
Peter Buckoke double bass
William Howard piano

Romantic chamber music presented beneath the elegant high-domed ceiling of The Octagon.

The Schubert Ensemble premieres a piano quintet by Cheryl Frances-Hoad, winner of the BBC Young Composer competition at the age of just 15, alongside a quintet by Louise Farrenc, the only woman to hold a permanent post at the Paris Conservatoire in the 19th century.

Approximate end time: 8.15pm (no interval)

Full programme

Louise Farrenc Quintet No.1 in A minor
Cheryl Frances-Hoad  The Whole Earth Dances (world premiere)*
Schumann Piano Quartet in E flat Op.47

*Co-commissioned by the Schubert Ensemble and Spitalfields Music. Supported by the John S Cohen Foundation, Hinrichsen Foundation, The Leche Trust, Lord Phillimore’s Charitable Trust, RVW Trust, The Steel Charitable Trust and The Schubert Ensemble Trust.

Pre-concert talk

6.00pm – 6.30pm
The artists and composer Cheryl Frances-Hoad discuss the programme and the creation of her new work.

Add your free tickets to this event to your basket at checkout.


Book tickets

This event has passed.

Venue information

The Octagon, Queen Mary University of London

Queen's Building, Queen Mary University of London
Mile End Road
E1 4NS

Get directions

Underground & Overground

Mile End  (4 mins)
Stepney Green (7 mins)
Walking times are given in brackets.


All of our venues are easy to reach by bus. To plan your quickest route use TFL’s journey planner.