CLOSER: Debussy, Copland & Dance

Tuesday 22 September, 7.30pm (2015)

PRICE: £15 (includes a free drink)

Book Now

Michael Collins conductor / clarinet
City of London Sinfonia
Dancers tbc

Debussy arr. Schoenberg Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Rameau Pygmalion Dance suite
Bach trans. Michael Collins Solo cello suite transcribed for clarinet
Copland Appalachian Spring
Debussy arr. Schoenberg Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune

Our 2015-16 season opens with a celebration of music written for dance from Rameau’s 18th-century re-imagining of the classical Pygmalion myth to Copland’s musical story of the US pioneers who explored the Appalachian mountains in the 19th century. The performance begins and ends with Debussy’s stunning L’aprés midi d’un faune in two different dance interpretations, alongside a unique take on Bach’s solo cello suites with clarinettist Michael Collins in what is the first ‘Bach RE:Imagining’ of the series.


Adult: £15 (includes a free drink)
Concessions: £7.50 **
CLS FIVER (16-25 year olds): £5 – pre-register at *
Early Bird tickets: £1 * – quote EARLYBIRD when booking

*Early Bird and FIVER tickets are subject to availability and do not include a free drink. Tickets can be accessed using the promotional code.
**Concessions available for children (under 16), senior citizens and jobseekers.

Running time: 1hr 30min
Doors/bar open: 6.45pm

Part of City of London Sinfonia’s ground-breaking informal concert series, CLoSer is designed to appeal to those who like their music intimate, relaxed (and who enjoy a glass of wine while listening!).

Please note Spitalfields Music is only providing box office services for this event. For other enquiries regarding this event, please contact City of London Sinfonia directly.

Book tickets

This event has passed.